The Kraken Wakes

Well, the Idle Writer has been aroused from his slumber.

I have finally found the time to start promoting writing services – proofreading, copyediting, book editing and copywriting. I’ve created a website and put a peg in the ground, as politicians are wont to say. I’m intending to do more writing and more work around writing, so I’ve got to put a hand in the air and start waving: I’m here! There’s a lot of trash being written out there, so someone has to save the world from it!

The new site is The Idle Writer, and it’s open for business right now.

More inventive and humorous posts on writing will follow, now that I’m going to be idling my time between the UK and France and will have plenty of time to talk about writing and all its associated elements.

Explore posts in the same categories: Newsy stuff

3 Comments on “The Kraken Wakes”


  1. A ‘peg in the ground’ and a ‘hand in the air’………. I’m overwhelmed by all this sudden activity, Idle Writer. (You put me to shame.) I do note, however, that all this hammering and waving can be done safely away from a keyboard, ensuring minimal writing thereon?

    Me thinks that I will have to be on my toes – hooves, actually – with my spelling and grammar now you’ve gone ‘live’ offering your services.

    Your post spurred me into googling cliché. Wikipedia tells me that “In printing, a cliché was a printing plate cast from movable type. This is also called a stereotype. When letters were set one at a time, it made sense to cast a phrase used repeatedly as a single slug of metal. “Cliché” came to mean such a ready-made phrase. The French word “cliché” comes from the sound made when the matrix is dropped into molten metal to make a printing plate.”

    I didn’t know that. Now I can see the French connection, I thought it essential to touch base with you because I actually live in France! What a coincidence! So, if you will pardon my mouton French, I would like to encourage you to push hard on the envelope of your services because I’m sure your venture will all pan out really well for you – once you’ve got the waving and peg stuff out of the way, of course.

    Au revoir
    MM

  2. Keith Dixon Says:

    Thank you, MM, for your kind and encouraging words. I knew some of that stuff about cliche – that it was a set of words kept on one plate to make typesetting quicker – but I didn’t know that it came from the sound of the Matrix dropped into molten metal. I wonder what Keanu thought when that happened …


    • Ah – the delightful Keanu. And such a lovely coat.
      I have pondered the Matrix muchly yet have been unable to determine, to my complete satisfaction, whether I am merely a brain in a vat. Or not. I am clear about not being a sentient machine, though. Or am I?


Leave a Reply

